The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi inducts approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff, and alumni every year. Once inducted, Phi Kappa Phi members gain a lifelong passport to a global network of academic and professional opportunities. Since its founding in 1897, more than 1 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization's more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, writer John Grisham, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, and Netscape founder James Barksdale.

Phi Kappa Phi has chapters on nearly 300 select college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. The Society's mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."

NewsView all

2022-2023 Circle of Excellence

The Michigan State University Chapter has received the Silver Circle of Excellence.

2022 Love of Learning Award Recipients

Alyssa LaBerge (Fredericks) and Joel Berends have been selected as a recipients of this year’s Love of Learning award. Each year, through a competitive process, Phi Kappa Phi distributes two hundred Love of Learning Awards, at $1,000 each, to members who have completed their bachelor’s degree, for the purpose of continuing their studies or professional development.

Important Dates and Deadlines

Graduate Fellowship
Chapter Deadline March 10, 2023
National Deadline April 15, 2023

Literacy Grant
Application deadline: April 1, 2023

Study Abroad Grants
Deadline: March 15, 2023

Love of Learning Award
Deadline: June 30, 2023

Dissertation Fellowship
Deadline for application: November 30, 2022

Pioneer Award
Deadline for application: June 1, 2023

Graduate Research Grant
Deadline for application: November 30, 2022

Mary Todd Sabatical Award
Deadline for application: October 1, 2023